France economy

Netherlands tightens entry rules for France, Greece, Switzerland and several other EU / Schengen countries

Dutch authorities have announced that from August 8, travelers from several countries in the European Union and the Schengen area will be subject to entry rules.

Such a move was made after a handful of countries, which have recorded high infection rates with COVID-19, moved from green to yellow list, reports

Therefore, all people traveling from any of the countries listed below will be required to hold the EU COVID-19 digital certificate in order to be allowed to enter the country:

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy, including Sicily
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Portugal
  • Swiss

Until now, travelers from the countries mentioned above were able to enter the Netherlands without restriction without presenting any documents, including the EU’s COVID-19 digital certificate.

However, as countries will be moved to the yellow list from August 8, all travelers entering any of these zones are required to present proof of vaccination, a negative test result, or proof that the Holder has recovered from COVID-19 disease.

“You must show proof of vaccination, proof of recovery or a negative test result (this includes the COVID digital certificate) if you are traveling from a high risk EU / Schengen country / region” the government statement reads.

In addition, those who travel by plane are required to complete a health declaration form and take it with them. As for travelers who do not have proof of vaccination or proof of recovery, the Dutch government suggests that each take a COVID-19 test two days after arrival and a second test five days after arrival.

“If you don’t have proof of vaccination or recovery, get tested on the second and fifth day after arrival. “ the government noted.

Travelers fully vaccinated against the COVID-19 disease must prove that they have been immunized with one of the eight vaccines recognized by the country’s authorities. This means that the vaccine must be one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) or be on the World Health Organization (WHO) emergency use list.

>> Netherlands: COVID-19 vaccines recognized for travel

Regarding the validity of the certificate, it was noted that the document would only be valid for 14 days after the end of the vaccination process.

In addition, it was pointed out that for a vaccination certificate to be considered valid, it must be issued in Dutch, English, German, French, Portuguese, Spanish or Italian.

Previously, the Dutch government announced that as of July 27, all vaccinated travelers from countries in the EU, the European Economic Area or the Schengen Area would be allowed to enter the country, regardless of the COVID-19 situation prevailing in their country.

>> Traveling to the Netherlands amid COVID-19: everything you need to know